June 15, 2024


Make Every Business

President’s secy Sanjay Kothari next CVC, ex-IAS officer Julka to be CIC

Sanjay Kothari, the Secretary to the President, has been chosen as the new Main Vigilance Commissioner by a large-driven committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, officials mentioned on Wednesday.

The committee has also picked by a majority conclusion, former Information and Broadcasting Secretary Bimal Julka, at present serving as an Information Commissioner, as the new Main Information Commissioner in the Central Information Commission.

“Kothari and Julka have been chosen as the upcoming CVC and CIC,” a senior govt official mentioned.

Equally Kothari and Julka are retired Indian Administrative Support officers.

Though Congress leader in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury opposed the decisions, it was supported by other associates in the panel — Union House Minister Amit Shah, Minister of State for PMO and Personnel Jitendra Singh, Cupboard Secretary Rajiv Gauba and Secretary Personnel C Chandramouli, sources mentioned.

The panel also determined by majority the appointment of Suresh Patel as Vigilance Commissioner and Anita Pandove as Information Commissioner.

The orders linked to the appointments are envisioned to be issued on Wednesday just after formal approval from President Ram Nath Kovind, the official mentioned.

The Central Vigilance Commission is an-corruptiom watchdog with autonomous position.

It is no cost of command from any govt authority and has the obligation of monitoring all vigilance functions in the Central govt apart from advising many authorities in preparing, executing, examining and reforming their vigilance function.

The Central Information Commission was constituted beneath the Proper to Information Act and has the jurisdiction around all central general public authorities.